The Chuck Heaton Award

The Chuck Heaton Award is bestowed upon the print, radio, online or television journalist who best exemplifies the sensitivity and humility that, along with his journalism heart, were traits exhibited by Chuck Heaton during his exemplary career as a sports writer at The Plain Dealer.

Heaton, who worked at the PD for 50 years and was inducted into the Cleveland Journalism Hall of Fame in 1992, died in 2008.

Nominations are solicited from the general membership of The Press Club; the Club's Media Advisory Committee, composed of Cleveland media executives; and the Hall of Fame Committee. Selection is made by a panel of Press Club executive leaders.

Press Club of Cleveland board member John Betchkal was the driving force behind creation of the Heaton Award. Betchkal and Heaton were friends when Betchkal worked at The Cleveland Press and Heaton was covering the Browns for The Plain Dealer.

Previous recipients are John Telich in 2009 and Terry Pluto in 2008.

Chuck Heaton Article from 2008

Chuck Heaton Award Recipients: